NCAPHNA

North Carolina Association
of Public Health
Nurse Administrators

Purpose

To improve the quality, quantity, comprehensiveness, and continuity of public health nursing care provided by the local health departments in concert with current health care trends and public health nursing practice.

Goals

  1. To meet annually to provide members with continuing education and peer exchange.
  2. To establish effective communication between local public health agencies, DEHNR, Health Directors’ Association, academic, and other agencies promoting health.
  3. To appraise the membership of legal, legislative, and professional actions pertaining to public health nurses.
  4. To actively support the professional status of public health nurses in North Carolina.

NCAPHNA Executive Board Members

President
Elizabeth “Joy” Smith Elizabeth.Smith@mecklenburgcountync.gov
President-Elect
Currently accepting interest forms
Past President
Mona Cooper Mona.Cooper@mecklenburgcountync.gov
Secretary
Jennifer Garrett JGarrett@maconnc.org
Treasurer
Paige Prichard PPrichard@Hendersoncountync.gov

 

Regions

Regional NCAPHNA Groups are official arms of the organization and are divided into seven geographic areas across North Carolina.

NCAPHNA Regions

(Click map for larger view)

Region President Email
Foothills Rhonda Stikeleather rhondas@catawbacountync.gov
Piedmont Joy Smith elizabeth.smith@mecklenburgcountync.gov
So. Central Christy Barfield christy.barfield@johnstonnc.com
No. Central Susan Hawks * looking for new rep. shawks@guilfordcountync.gov
Western Jennifer Garrett jgarrett@maconnc.org
Eastern Kimberly Hardy kimberly.hardy@pittcountync.gov
Coastal Jennifer Blackmon jblackmon@cravencountync.gov

Resources

NCAPHNA Handbook
NCAPHNA Bylaws

2022 NCAPHNA Conference               

Thank you for attending the NCAPHNA 2022 Conference! See below for handouts for each of the sessions.

Presentation Speaker
Looking Back & Looking Forward: Lessons Learned from COVID-19 and Supporting the Resiliency of Our Workforce Dr. Betsey Tilson, MD, MPH
Public Health Nurses: Utilizing Leadership as a Succession Plan Dr. Kimberly Hardy, DNP, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC, NEA-BC
Understanding Stress and Building Wellness Dr. Carrie Brown, MD, MPH
Beyond COVID: Reclaiming Your Purpose

Angela Callicutt, MSN, RN, CPHQ & Heather E. Willis, MSN, RN

It’s a WRAP: Wellness Resiliency Action Plan Charla Brandon, MPH
Crisis Leadership: A Primer Amy Belflower-Thomas, MHA, MSPH, CPH, DrPH(c)
Laughter: The Best Medicine

Kristin Briggs, MSN, RN & Liza Engstrom, MPH

 

Contact Us

Share This